2nd Annual SciFi Pulse Awards to honor Land of the Lost cast at Galacticon 4

Three of the show's cast members, Kathy Coleman, Wesley Eure and Phil Paley will be given a Sci Fi Pulse Award for their outstanding contributions to Science Fiction and Saturday morning television.

This coming July 31, through August 2, 2015, a great science fiction convention, Galacticon 4, which is being held in Seattle Washington, will also be hosting the 2nd Annual SciFi Pulse Awards.

Last year SciFi Pulse honored Edward James  Olmos, Esai Morales and George Perez with the 1st Annual SciFi Pulse Awards for their outstanding achievements as Hispanics to science fiction and pop culture.

This year SciFi Pulse in conjunction with Galacticon, is proud to announce that our very own Tye Bourdony, a self-proclaimed Doctor of Sci Fi, will have the honor of presenting Kathy Coleman (Holly Marshall), Wesley Eure (Will Marshall) and Phil Paley (Chaka) of the original and unforgettable Saturday morning live action television show, Land of the Lost;  with the 2nd Annual SciFi Pulse Award for their outstanding contributions to Science Fiction.

Land of the Lost was created by Sid and Marty Krofft, along with David Gerrold and Allan Foshko and originally aired on NBC from 1974 to 1976. The show told the story of park ranger Rick Marshall as played by Spencer Milligan, along with his two children Will (Wesley Eure) and Holly (Kathy Coleman). The family trio become stuck in the prehistoric Land of the Lost, along with an amazing cast of characters, dinosaurs and assorted monsters in a never ending struggle to get home, while always trying to do the right thing.

Soon after the show’s premiere, it not only became a huge hit, but proved to be one of the most popular shows on Saturday morning TV. Land of the Lost also featured top talent in the field of make-up such as Michael Westmore, best known for his innovative and award winning work on Star Trek the Next Generation. The Saturday morning live action show was also able to boast other well known and veteran television and Sci Fi genre writers greats such as Ben BovaDorothy Fontana, Walter Koenig, Larry NivenNorman Spinrad and Theodore Sturgeon.

Land of the Lost would go on for three seasons and a total of 43 episodes, until it was cancelled at the end of its third season, which also happened to see the departure of Spencer Milligan as Rick Marshall and the addition of his brother, Uncle Jack, as played by Ron Harper. But that was not to be the end of this Sid and Marty Krofft show as Land of the Lost has not only gone on to live in syndicated television for over forty years, but also spawned a 2009 remake and has eventually become a cult classic and nostalgic show with legions of devoted fans.

Any fan of the show who was a kid back in the 1970’s, will fondly remember sitting in front of the family television on Saturday mornings in their pajamas, accompanied by a very big bowl of cereal as they anxiously watched Land of the Lost. The show simply had a way of transporting its millions of viewers and fans to that very special lost land in a pocket universe so very far far away.

Land of the Lost was able to put together the right recipe of adventure and Marshall morality, that just knew how to excite the minds of its young viewers. No other show at the time could match the fun and smart science fiction, as well as the amazingly dressed prehistoric jungle sets, which featured compelling and believably dangerous adversaries, while at the same time featuring top notch make up, special effects, writing and production. But just as importantly, Land of the Lost also featured a much beloved cast of characters and actors who worked tirelessly to bring the Land of the Lost to life each and every Saturday morning.

Many a young child either had a crush on Holly or on Will, while also wanting to either be Holly or Will and everyone watching the show absolutely wanted their very own young and adorably hairy Pakuni boy named Chaka, as a best friend! Kids of all ages and nationalities following the show at the time easily imagined themselves running through the jungle with Will, Holly and Chaka in an attempt to either get away from Big Alice or fight the Sleestak under the fabled Lost City, which also served as home to Enick the Altrusian, as played by Walker Edmiston.

And it is in that spirit that on Sunday, August 2, 2015, the last day of Galacticon 4; that the 2nd Annual SciFi Pulse Award for outstanding contribution in Science Fiction, will be presented to Kathy Coleman, Wesley Eure and Phil Paley. An award which is not only long overdue but also well deserved, and intended to serve as recognition of the unforgettable roles these actors helped bring to life in one of the very best Saturday morning television shows of the 1970’s, Land of the Lost.

This well respected Sid and Marty Krofft show, along with the much beloved characters of Will, Holly and Chaka, have in essence entertained two generations of science fiction fans along with some of their offspring, while also serving to contribute an important piece of work to contemporary science fiction, by helping to shape and define the unforgettable era of Saturday morning television!

Please join SciFi Pulse and Galacticon to celebrate the great work these fine actors have given to the rest of us during the time they spent in the Land of The Lost, which greatly helped to make the show as special as it is to so many of us!


Or as could roughly be said in Pakuni, MENI-WU-TOBI-FA-MENI!”

Tye Bourdony is the co-owner of scifipulse.net as well as the U.S. based content editor for Sci Fi Pulse. Tye is also a Sci Fi cartoonist and creator of ‘The Lighter Side of Sci-Fi’, a mediator, deep space traveler, and the lead interstellar reporter for the Galactic Enquirer. He is also a graduate of the Barry University School of Law, SUNY Purchase and H.S. of Music & Art. Tye currently works in Florida’s 9th Circuit as the staff Family Mediator and has a regular self-published column in Sci Fi Magazine. You can visit Tye on facebook and at www.thelightersideofscifi.com or send your thoughts and story/article ideas to tyebscifipulseditor@aol.com.
    No Comment