William Hatchett’s “The Chosen” out in September

One man, one planet, one destiny. William Hatchett’s new novel, The Chosen, is a cosmic romp through space and time This is science fiction with a difference – the...

the-chosen

One man, one planet, one destiny. William Hatchett’s new novel, The Chosen, is a cosmic romp through space and time This is science fiction with a difference – the time machine in Hatchett’s novel is decorated with William Morris wallpaper and equipped with a drinks cabinets furnished with brandy and luxury cigarettes!

One man. One planet. One destiny. In The Chosen, Frederick Frater leads a hum-drum existence working in a Victorian bookshop. But one day an apparition walks into the shop – a beautiful young woman with an inventor dad. Her father’s extraordinary invention changes Frederick’s life and the adventure that follows takes readers back to Roman-occupied Britain and into the future, in which magic has become science. It is a future that Frederick can influence through his interventions – for he is one of the Chosen, a select and privileged group with the fate of the world in their hands.

William Hatchett offers a utopian novel in the tradition of Thomas More and William Morris, as he speculates on the possible futures of our planet. The book, which has ontological themes, attempts to break down the artificial polarity between science and magic, the rational and the irrational, arguing that we should be friends with both. It maintains that: ‘Science and magic are not opposites, they are complementary, like the two sides of a coin. Science is magic; it is the magic that we understand.’

William Hatchett, who lives in London, has previously been named housing journalist of the year, in 1998, and editor of the year, in 2012, is the editor of a professional magazine Environmental Health News. He’s the author of the Dragon Rising trilogy and has also published books of non-fiction and poetry. The Chosen is his fourth novel.

The Chosen will be published in September 2014 on Cosmic Egg Books (an imprint of John Hunt Publishing Ltd). More information on the Cosmic Books web site: http://www.cosmicegg-books.com

• Buy The Chosen by William Hatchett from amazon.com

Buy The Chosen by William Hatchett from amazon.co.uk

ISBN: 978-1-78279-643-5 (Paperback) £10.99 $18.95

EISBN: 978-1-78279-642-8 (eBook) £4.99 $7.99

Ian Cullen is the founder of scifipulse.net and has been a fan of science fiction and fantasy from birth.

In the past few years he has written for ‘Star Trek’ Magazine as well as interviewed numerous comics writers, television producers and actors for the SFP-NOW podcast at: www.scifipulseradio.com

When he is not writing for scifipulse.net Ian enjoys playing his guitar, studying music, watching movies and reading his comics.

Ian is both the founder and owner of scifipulse.net

You can contact ian at: [email protected]

No Comment

RELATED BY