BOOM! Studios set to release ‘The Fiction’ June 17th

Everyone loves getting pulled into a good story, but what happens if the story doesn’t want to let you back out again?

BOOM! Studios has announced the June debut of The Fiction, a new limited series from Curt Pires (POP, Mayday) and rising star artist David Rubín (Battling Boy: The Rise of Aurora West), which centers around a group of childhood friends who discover doorways to other worlds through a set of strange books, in the vein of The Unwritten and Jumanji.

In The Fiction, four childhood friends discover a box of strange books that, when read aloud, can transport them to the beautiful, imaginary worlds described within. But when one of them goes missing, the others vow never to reveal where they’ve been and what they’ve seen. Years later, when one of the remaining kids, now an adult, also mysteriously disappears, it’s up to the last two of the group to dig up their dusty books to find him and finally figure out what happened to their friend all those years ago.

BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon had this to say about The Fiction,  “Everyone loves getting pulled into a good story, but what happens if the story doesn’t want to let you back out again?

Gagnon went on to say, “Curt has tapped into the ultimate fantasy of escapism and turned it on its head. David is a hugely talented artist who’s been tasked with creating two worlds in The Fiction, and he’s blown us away. This is a series that embraces the beauty and narrative potential of the comic book medium.”

The Fiction #1 arrives in comic shops shelves on June 17th with a main cover by series artist David Rubín with a price of $3.99 . Also available in a limited quantity are a 10 Years incentive cover by Frazer Irving (Annihilator, Uncanny X-Men) as well as a retailer incentive cover by Tula Lotay (Curb Stomp, Supreme: Blue Rose).

Tye Bourdony is the co-owner of scifipulse.net as well as the U.S. based content editor for Sci Fi Pulse. Tye is also a Sci Fi cartoonist and creator of ‘The Lighter Side of Sci-Fi’, a mediator, deep space traveler, and the lead interstellar reporter for the Galactic Enquirer. He is also a graduate of the Barry University School of Law, SUNY Purchase and H.S. of Music & Art. Tye currently works in Florida’s 9th Circuit as the staff Family Mediator and has a regular self-published column in Sci Fi Magazine. You can visit Tye on facebook and at www.thelightersideofscifi.com or send your thoughts and story/article ideas to tyebscifipulseditor@aol.com.
No Comment

RELATED BY

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,517 other subscribers